Trainwreck

You fascinate me

Who do you think you are?

You’re sick. You’re beautiful.

You were the light at the end of my tunnel

I condemn that!

That train derailed and killed a thousand souls

I was each aboard

You were the engineer of my destruction

You switched tracks

You fool! You traitor!

Too weak to try, you tried so hard

So hard to hammer the nail

Thor and John Henry still speak of it

I hear they kept on talking until last May

You know, you hear them all the time

Some ghost on the road

Some hobo with a cardboard sign

The poor shall always be with you!

The wretched knock on your door

What else can I say?

Who in the depths of the underworld would know?

To the heights of heaven, no answer came to me

I am another prophet without honor

Let me take notes

These will be read a thousand years or more from now

Each line another recitation

Of another soul waiting for its triumph

Leave a Reply

