Phone-y Balogna

I just saw a commercial where someone uses the already worn out “rice drying” method on a wet cell phone. Excuse me, I meant smart phone. I’ve actually done that myself and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t work. Of course, that was a Blackberry Storm, which at the time was a pretty nice phone.

The “rice drying” method may have worked on older phones, but I haven’t heard anything about it. Whoever said that it worked must’ve been lucky when they tried it. What’s really weird is that as innovative and complex as phones are getting, no one has done the obvious. Just make a waterproof phone. Don’t even make it a “special” or “exclusive” feature. Just make it. Please.

Why? First of all, it’s a great idea, and your customers will still need to upgrade regularly. You want people to appreciate your products. That should be reason enough.

Consider for a moment, how much it costs to have a land line? Not much these days. Prices go down because the product becomes cheaper. The same thing will happen with mobile devices. If you don’t believe that, compare recent tablet prices.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this, but there is a lot that can be said about communications in general. Its complexity creates both unity and division. What will we do with it? I prefer a more optimistic outlook, but I don’t deny it can be used in a negative way. It doesn’t take too long to find abusive or hateful content. That’s one reason why I like my work to be from an articulate and hopefully intelligent standpoint.

Leave a Reply

